MARK LINDSAY-Life Out Loud

I am a huge Mark Lindsay fan. Have been since the mid 1960s.  Really liked Paul Revere and The Raiders. What was not to like? Songs like “Kicks“,  “Him or me-What’s it gonna be?“, “Hungry” and “Cinderella Sunshine” kept me heading down to Toronto’s Sam The Record Man to purchase Raider albums.

ml2I knew Mark Lindsay could sing. I knew he could write. I knew that he also produced several Raider albums around 1968, including Something’s Happening. Hard ‘N; Heavy, and Alias Pink Puzz.-I read liner notes. There was a solo career and then the nostalgia tours. And then, well, I thought that was the end of Mark Lindsay. I was pleasantly surprised, no, I was excited as hell to hear that Mark had been working on a new album with Gar FrancisWhen the good people at Bongo Boy Records, the Indie label smart enough to take on this project, sent me a copy of Life Out Loud, I found out what happens when a 1960′s pop-rock icon meets the guru of  New Jersey garage.

ml5Nothing short of amazing, this album kicks ass. Like a trip down memory lane to places you only thought that you had been, it offers familiar themes and styles in very different ways. Way cool! From the opening track, “Baby Come Back“, with its 60′s guitar riff, to the rockabilly feel of “Ghost Of A Girl“, and  the bluesy rhythm of “Rush On You“, Life Out Loud is a journey I was glad to have taken. The harmonica on “Easy Street” is beautifully placed. The throwback organ used in several of the tracks floats wonderfully in the background. The melodies rock and the harmonies are pure 1960′s.

ml6I particularly liked “Everything About You“, with its psych-pop melody, great organ, and cool guitar riff. Tongue in cheek lyrics-”I love the supermodel walk, I love the trashy way you talk”, don’t hurt one bit. “New Thing“, with driving power chords, has a wonderful chorus, and great vocals that tell us “since paradise can’t happen twice,here comes your new thing”. The subtle organ is reminiscent of 60′s pop as it lays under the guitar and vocal tracks. My favorite track, “Merry Go Round (Christian’s Song)“, delivers a beautiful melody in a great pop-rock song. The keyboards, subtle guitar, and amazing bridge lay the framework for the great vocal track.

mark-lindsay_life-out-loudLife Out Loud is exciting and provocative. It is basic rock, with that Jersey edge. The album is magical, the songs incredible, the production, dynamite.. I have listened to it several times, and always seem to find something new going on with each listen.  I can’t help feeling how much fun this album was to make. I hope they do it again. It is safe to say that Mark Lindsay is back. And I am glad. I only wish that I could get a copy of the CD autographed by Mark and Gar. Now that would be way cool.   

You can hear and then purchase Life Out Loud here: http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/marklindsay4

newlogo   http://icantbelievemyearz.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/review-archives/

One Response to “MARK LINDSAY-Life Out Loud”

  1. mykola1135 Says:

    From one “huge Mark Lindsay fan” to another, that is a great review. Mark spoke of a trilogy. That makes me very, very happy. Loving LOL. It’s blasting through my headphones right now. I am singing along and smiling. Oh – “Easy Street” is playing – I have to get up and move. To Mark: more, please!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,435 other followers

