INNERSPACE: To Boldly Go Where No Band Has Gone Before!

innerspace2

Its been 30 years since I’ve heard any really good, original progressive rock. Finally ,  there is Innerspace, This Montreal band’s members were not even born when I was listening to King Crimson, Yes, Pink Floyd and Flash. Yet these are the bands they cite as musical influences.

Their album, “The Village” released in 2012 took 3 years to complete, and  was well worth the wait. This concept album, detailing life from the perspective of a child and  the man he becomes, was written and produced by Simon Arsenault and Phil Burton. The album plays like a suite, with each song a unique piece yet somehow intertwined into the greater whole. The “Intro” sets the tone with its unsettling keyboards, while “Wildflower”, the longest song on the album at over 11 minutes, brings us vocals that seem to cry for help amid the desperation created by the keys until the drums kick in and the song takes on an entirely different life. “Old Wreck” is as feel good as Innerspace gets with  Arsenault’s crisp and clean guitar work. “Slippery Case” parts l & ll, heavy with synthesizer are mini suites within themselves, changing tempo , melody and time signature almost at will, They incorporate saxophone in “Jack” and record the melody just slightly behind the music. They nailed it!. “Mister Mayor” echos shades of  Dark Side of the Moon with the haunting guitar and  Burton’s ethereal vocals.  These guys know how to make Progressive Rock, rock!

thevillage

“The Village” is a place I have traveled  to over and over again. It is a journey through not just music , but emotion and time as well.  It will take you back 30 years and then move you ahead 30 more. Might they be the second coming of Floyd? It may be too early to tell, but  Innerspace are the real deal!   You can see them at the 7th annual Fieldfest in Manotick, Ontario on August 2. If you can get there, go!

To hear a sample of Innerspace, click on the link below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=hhRHd4rPJoY#t=0s

https://icantbelievemyearz.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/review-archives/

13 Responses to “INNERSPACE: To Boldly Go Where No Band Has Gone Before!”

  1. It really is a fine album, the more I listen the deeper I get into it, great musicianship. Good work lads.

  2. I have been surfing online greater than three hours today, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is beautiful worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  3. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately all vital infos. I’d like to peer more posts like this .

  4. A person essentially help to make significantly articles I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to create this particular post extraordinary. Great activity!

  5. I have read a few just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you place to create such a excellent informative site.

  6. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  7. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I believed this submit was once great. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  8. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  9. Fantastic site. A lot of helpful info here. I am sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks in your sweat!

  10. continuously i used to read smaller articles or reviews that
    also clear their motive, and that is also happening with
    this article which I am reading at this place.

  11. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  12. Woah this blog is magnificent i really like reading your articles. Stay up the great paintings! You know, lots of individuals are looking round for this info, you could help them greatly.

  13. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a very good job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Chrome.

    Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

