WHEN HEROES GO

Its not the first time a musician I admired, respected, and was awe struck by, has passed away. There were the untimely deaths of Pete Ham, Ronnie Van Zandt, Lowell George, John Lennon, Randy (California) Wolfe, George Harrison, Freddy Mercury, and I am sure, many more. So, what is it that has me so disturbed and disheartened by the recent deaths of so many musicians?

In the past 18 months or so, we have lost, among others, Jesse Winchester, Jack Bruce (Cream), Chris Squire (Yes), Lemmy, David Bowie, Dale Griffin (Mott The Hoople), Glen Frey (The Eagles), Paul Kantner (Jefferson Airplane),  Merle Haggard, and Prince. What the hell is going on? I was fortunate to have met some, was a fan of them all, and considered myself a contemporary of many. I grew up with the music of most of them, and carried it with me throughout my adult life. There are songs by these artists that will forever be etched in my memories, as one of those, ‘this is what I was listening to when…’, or ‘this is what I was doing the first time I heard….’ moments.

 

Perhaps it is my own mortality that is being thrown in my face, as I am just about the same age as most of them. Maybe it is the realization that the talent pool on this planet is being depleted faster than it can be replaced. Or maybe it is simply the understanding that my heroes were, in fact, only human.

I am deeply saddened by it all. I have been spending a great deal of time listening to the music these giants have created, maybe reliving my youth, but also to ingest the insanely wonderful legacy they have left for me. The memories, the emotions, the thoughts that each song creates in me will never wane. I am saddened. I am hurt. It is so very hard to say goodbye to a hero.

 

icbme2support_independent_music

 

 

 

 

https//www.facebook.com/ICantBelieveMyEarz

https://twitter.com/cntblievemyearz

https//icantbelievemyearz.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/review-archives/

 

PROUD TO BE SPONSORED BY:

 

mainman

 

http://mainmanrecords.com/

One Response to “WHEN HEROES GO”

  1. […] When Heroes Go –   https://icantbelievemyearz.wordpress.com/2016/04/28/when-heroes-go/ […]

Leave a Reply

